The Nomination period for the 2021 ATCA Awards is now closed.

Have a question about the ATCA Awards? Please contact ATCA at 703-299-2430 or email


The goal of ATCA's awards program is to give special recognition to those persons and/or organizations engaged in the development, operation, or maintenance of the worldwide air traffic control system for outstanding achievement. From heroic air traffic control saves to industry and small business contributions, military recognition to NAS safety, there's an ATCA award for anybody dedicated to the advancement of air traffic control and a safe flying environment.

Nominations may be made by any individual, group. There is no geographic limitation on the location of the project submitted.

1.     Nominations must be submitted in English. Any additional submission information must be submitted under the Nomination Information or under Supporting Documents upload (in Microsoft Word or PDF formats). Incomplete submissions will not be considered for selection.

2.     Organizations, groups or individuals may make nominations in more than one category.

3.     Organizations, groups or individuals may make more than one nomination in each category.

4.     Nominations must be completed at the time of submission.

5.     Nominations can be made independently, as a group, as an organization or as multiple organizations.

6.     Nominations must be made using the online submission form. Nominations will not be accepted by any other means.

7.     By submitting a nomination, the Nominator confirms that they have read and agree with the Rules of Submission and understand how these apply. 

8.     When entries are submitted on behalf of companies, organizations, agencies or other parties, nominee’s sign-off is assumed. If any issues arise concerning sign-off, once the nomination has been submitted, all responsibilities are the nominator.

9.     Please ensure that the information submitted is accurate and the correct individuals and organizations are credited as appropriate. The organizers do not accept responsibility for any incorrectly submitted information.

10.  Digital uploads may take a variety of formats, e.g., PDF, Word, Excel, PowerPoint or Jpeg file. Please ensure that uploaded logos and any supporting files follow the supporting material guidelines. Please note when uploading supporting material file names must not include any ‘special’ characters, e.g., _ / ( ) & * “. File size uploads should not exceed 20 MB.  For files larger than 20 MB, we suggestion a uploading files to a website (i.e., Dropbox, Google Drive, WeTransfer), then upload the access information links in clickable pdf file.

11.  Where websites form part of an entry, please ensure any URLs, access details, usernames, and passwords needed for judging are provided, that they work and that they will continue to work until October 2021. Sites that cannot be viewed will be eliminated from the judging.

12.  Once submitted, nomination entries are confirmed by email. 

13.  If a nomination does not qualify for the category it has been submitted to, the Awards Committee reserve the right to recategorize the submission. 

14.  ATCA takes conflicts of interest very seriously and will work to minimize the occurrences of conflicts. ATCA selects a diverse body of Award Committee members who we feel are objective, respected, and knowledgeable in their category. Committee member may not vote for any entry with which they have a conflict of interest; such situations are closely monitored and policed accordingly. In addition, if a Committee member is nominated for an award, they will be removed from the judging of that award.  

15.  Any nomination may be withdrawn for any reason upon or before June 18, 2021 with a written request to ATCA.

16.  The Awards Committee, consisting of ATM industry professionals will review the nominations and select the winner for each category.

17.  Winners will be announced at the 66th ATCA Annual Awards Ceremony, taking place September 21, 2021 – more details to follow.

18.  All nominations and nominating Organizations will be published in the Awards Program. No changes will be accepted after July 30, 2021.

19.  ATCA may use the content of your entry submission for editorial coverage, business, or marketing purposes as an example of best practice. ATCA will never use anything marked as “Confidential Information” as we fully respect the entrant’s commercial confidence.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. You may opt out if you wish. Please note that some site capability may be affected.
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • 06 Jun 2018
    Hon. Linda Hall Daschle Named 2018 Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Winner

    The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) is pleased to announce that former FAA Acting Administrator Linda Hall Daschle has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the prestigious Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, one of the most prominent awards in aviation and ATCA’s highest honor.

    A pioneer for women in air traffic management, Daschle was the first female to hold the post of Acting Administrator for the FAA. She began her aviation career in Kansas nearly 45 years ago as a licensed weather observer for the agency. In 1993, she was nominated by President Clinton and confirmed by the US Senate for the position of FAA Deputy Administrator. One of her first tasks involved an assessment of the agency’s key air traffic modernization program called the Advanced Automation System which was eventually overhauled, saving the agency an estimated $1.6 billion. She also oversaw the advancement of new regional airline safety regulations and conducted a review of the agency’s safety and surveillance program, which resulted in one of the single largest hires of new safety inspectors in FAA history. 

    Ms. Daschle has held numerous government and private-sector leadership positions, including with the American Association of Airport Executives, the Air Transport Association, the former Civil Aeronautics Board, and with the law firm of Baker Donelson. She is currently President of LHD & Associates, Inc, and serves on the board of Aireon, LLC.

    In accepting the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, Ms. Daschle joins aviation greats, including Delta’s Richard Anderson, NATCA President Paul Rinaldi, the Hon. Jane Garvey, Boeing’s Neil Planzer, former Transportation Secretary Norman Mineta, and pilot A. Scott Crossfield. (View press release HERE.)

    Tickets will be available this month. For more information, visit

    Established in Washington, D.C., in 1956 by a group of air traffic controllers, the Air Traffic Control Association has been from the outset dedicated to progress in the science of air traffic control and the preservation of a safe flight environment.
    Contact Us
    1101 King Street,
    Suite 300, Alexandria,
    Virginia 22314
    Phone no.: 703-299-2430
    Fax: 703-299-2437
    Email to: