Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Banquet

Home / Donate & Get Involved / Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Banquet

The Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award is dedicated to the memory of one of the recognized “Fathers of Air Traffic Control” and honors the lifelong achievements of an individual in the field of aviation. Glen Gilbert was a visionary who, along with Earl Ward, founded the U.S. air traffic system and dedicated his professional career to its improvement. The design of the trophy includes the Roman God Jupiter, the deity of weather, sky, and light, and a depiction of the earth and its atmosphere.

The award trophy is inscribed with recipient names and was donated by ATCA Corporate Member, Raytheon Company. The Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award is on permanent display in the Smithsonian’s National Air & Space Museum in Washington D.C. The trophy underwent a complete restoration in 2005 thanks to a generous donation by the Raytheon Company.

The Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award represents ATCA’s most prestigious honor. The Award is given during the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Banquet held during the ATCA Global Conference & Exposition.


 Teri Bristol, Founder, Bristol Consulting, LLC
Massimo Garbini, Chief Executive Officer at ENAV; ATM Executive Board Member at Frequentis
2019  Daniel K. Elwell, FAA Deputy Administrator
2018   Linda Hall Daschle, Acting FAA Administrator; President, LHD & Associates, Inc. 
2017  Richard H. Anderson, Northwest Airlines, Inc and Delta Air Lines, Inc.
2016  Paul Rinaldi, President, NATCA
2015  Sid Koslow, Vice President, and Chief Technology Officer, NAV CANADA
2014  Monte Belger, Acting FAA Deputy Administrator; President, Metron Aviation
2013  Patrick Ky, Executive Director, European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA)
2012  Peter Challan, Vice President of Industry Relations, Harris Corporation
2011  Jane Garvey, Administrator, Federal Aviation Administration; Chairman, Meridiam
2010  Neil R. Planzer, Vice President, The Boeing Company
2009  Allan McArtor, Chairman, Airbus Americas, Inc.
2008  John Crichton, President, CEO, NAV CANADA
2007  Gerald L. Thompson, Chairman, Jerry Thompson and Associates
2006  Garland “Cas” Castleberry, FAA Associate Administrator, President of ATCA
2005  James L. Oberstar, Congressman, U.S. House of Representatives
2004  Wolfgang Philipp, Senior Director, EUROCONTROL
2003  Andy Pitas, Founder of ATCA, Professional Air Traffic Controller
2002    Frank Frisbie, Northrup Grumman, FAA Deputy Associate Administrator
2001  William Pollard, CEO, Air Services Australia, Professional Air Traffic Controller
2000  Gabriel A. Hartl, Colonel USAF Retired, President of ATCA
1999  Langhorne Bond, FAA Administrator
1998  Stanley Seltzer, V.P., American Airlines, Professional Air Traffic Controller
1997  Yves Lambert, Director General of EUROCONTROL
1996 Norman Mineta, Secretary of Transportation, U.S. Congressman
1995  Captain Elrey B. Jeppesen, Airline Captain, Founder, Jeppesen & Co.
1994  Tirey Vickers, Editor of ATCA Journal, Professional Air Traffic Controller
1993  Joseph Del Balzo, Deputy FAA Administrator, Electrical Engineer
1991  John Winant, President, National Business Aircraft Association
1990  A. Scott Crossfield, Aircraft Test Pilot
1989  J. Lynn Helms, FAA Administrator, President, Piper Aircraft Co.
1988  Najeeb Halaby, FAA Administrator, President, Pan Am Airways
 1986  David Thomas, Deputy FAA Administrator, Professional Air Traffic Controller