Press Details

ATCA Announces 2019 Award Recipients

18 Sep 2019
ATCA Announces 2019 Award Recipients


ATCA Announces 2019 Award Recipients

The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) is pleased to announce its 2019 award winners. The goal of ATCA's awards program is to give special recognition to those persons and/or organizations engaged in the development, operation, or maintenance of the worldwide air traffic control system for outstanding achievement.


The following recipients will be honored at the 2019 Awards Luncheon during ATCA Annual on Tues., October 22, at the Marriott Marquis, Washington, D.C.


ATCA Annual Safety Award

Nick Paraskevopoulos, NAV CANADA


Andy Pitas Aircraft Save Award

Michael Tamez, NATCA

Ryan Schile and Andrew Rice, NATCA

Mary Wertel, Midwest ATC Services, Inc.

Kenneth Stanley, Robinson Aviation (RVA), Inc.


ATCA Annual Team Award for Outstanding Achievement

Civilian Award: GBDAA SkyVision Team

  Military Award: Foxtrot Company, 6th Battalion, 101st Aviation Regiment, US Army


ATCA Annual Industry Award

Aireon, NATS, and NAV CANADA


ATCA Annual Outstanding Achievement for Small & Disadvantaged Business

Changeis, Inc.


ATCA Annual Outstanding Achievement for Small Business



ATCA Outstanding Civilian ATC Manager of the Year Award

Cedric McQueen, Robinson Aviation (RVA), Inc.


ATCA Military ATC Technician of the Year Award

MSgt John Dean, US Air Force

SSG Carlo G. Chirinospacussich, US Army

ET1 Joshua Coatney, US Navy

SSgt Randal D. Rakestraw, US Marine Corps


ATCA Outstanding Military ATC Manager of the Year Award

Brian Mixon, US Army


ATCA Military Air Traffic Controller of the Year Award

PO Jonathan Epperson, US Navy

SGT Samantha Purdom, US Army

SrA Bradley L. O’Grady, US Air Force

SSgt Bret C. Piburn, US Marine Corps


ATCA Annual Aviation Systems Specialist Safety Award

Shelley Bailey, NAV CANADA


ATCA Life Cycle Management Award

Changeis, Inc.


David J. Hurley Memorial Award for Aviation Traffic Management

Joseph Sultana, EUROCONTROL


ATCA Award for Exceptional Service

CI2 Aviation Inc. 

Isla Grande Airport in San Juan, Puerto Rico, Rafael Hernandez Airport in Aguadilla, Puerto Rico, and St. Croix, US Virgin Islands

ATCA Ambassador Award

Gene Hayman, CACI


The Chairman’s Citation of Merit Award

Midori Tanino, ATO International, FAA


The President’s Citation of Merit Award

Philip Braswell, Naval Information Warfare Center Atlantic

Midwest ATC, Team Bagram


ATCA Lifetime Achievement Award

Roger Stern, Leidos


The Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award

Deputy Administrator Daniel K. Elwell, FAA*


*To be honored at the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Banquet Oct. 22.



Join ATCA on Tuesday, October 22, 2019, during the 64th ATCA Annual Conference & Exposition Awards Luncheon to recognize the above award winners. Lunch is included with full conference registration; individual tickets are also available. To purchase tickets, register online at as an Exhibit Hall visitor and then follow the prompts to add an Awards Luncheon ticket. For more information on award categories and descriptions, please visit



For Images and Media Inquiries:

Glenn Cudaback, Digital Media and Marketing Manager,

+1 703-299-2430 x302



To Purchase Banquet Tickets or Corporate Tables: Mindy Soranno, Office Manager and Special Projects

+1 703-299-2430.



About ATCA

The Air Traffic Control Association ( is dedicated to the progress and safety of air traffic control and works to advance the technology and professionalism of the industry. Founded in 1956 by a group of air traffic controllers, ATCA serves more than 3,5000 members from throughout the world — individual air traffic controllers as well as aviation associations, educational institutions, the government and military, and companies managing and providing equipment and services in the aviation community.


Go Back

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. You may opt out if you wish. Please note that some site capability may be affected.
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • 06 Jun 2018
    Hon. Linda Hall Daschle Named 2018 Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Winner

    The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) is pleased to announce that former FAA Acting Administrator Linda Hall Daschle has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the prestigious Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, one of the most prominent awards in aviation and ATCA’s highest honor.

    A pioneer for women in air traffic management, Daschle was the first female to hold the post of Acting Administrator for the FAA. She began her aviation career in Kansas nearly 45 years ago as a licensed weather observer for the agency. In 1993, she was nominated by President Clinton and confirmed by the US Senate for the position of FAA Deputy Administrator. One of her first tasks involved an assessment of the agency’s key air traffic modernization program called the Advanced Automation System which was eventually overhauled, saving the agency an estimated $1.6 billion. She also oversaw the advancement of new regional airline safety regulations and conducted a review of the agency’s safety and surveillance program, which resulted in one of the single largest hires of new safety inspectors in FAA history. 

    Ms. Daschle has held numerous government and private-sector leadership positions, including with the American Association of Airport Executives, the Air Transport Association, the former Civil Aeronautics Board, and with the law firm of Baker Donelson. She is currently President of LHD & Associates, Inc, and serves on the board of Aireon, LLC.

    In accepting the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, Ms. Daschle joins aviation greats, including Delta’s Richard Anderson, NATCA President Paul Rinaldi, the Hon. Jane Garvey, Boeing’s Neil Planzer, former Transportation Secretary Norman Mineta, and pilot A. Scott Crossfield. (View press release HERE.)

    Tickets will be available this month. For more information, visit

    Established in Washington, D.C., in 1956 by a group of air traffic controllers, the Air Traffic Control Association has been from the outset dedicated to progress in the science of air traffic control and the preservation of a safe flight environment.
    Contact Us
    1101 King Street,
    Suite 300, Alexandria,
    Virginia 22314
    Phone no.: 703-299-2430
    Fax: 703-299-2437
    Email to: