Press Details

ATCA Announces 2018 Award Recipients

23 Aug 2018
ATCA Announces 2018 Award Recipients

 The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) is pleased to announce its 2018 award winners. The goal of ATCA's awards program is to give special recognition to those persons and/or organizations engaged in the development, operation, or maintenance of the worldwide air traffic control system for outstanding achievement.

The following recipients will be honored at the 2018 Awards Luncheon during ATCA Annual on Tues., October 2, at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center in National Harbor, Md. 

ATCA Annual Safety Award
David Knight, Robinson Aviation, Inc.

Andy Pitas Aircraft Save Award
Karen Hagstrom, Ruben Lopez, Tim Martin, and Chris Watton, DAB
Ben Kotrla and Eric Muench, NAV CANADA
Christopher Liu, HCF
Charles Abernethy, Vijay Kanhai, and Dan McNeil, F11
Christina Munro, SCT
Stephen Newman, NAV CANADA

ATCA Annual Team Award for Outstanding Achievement
Naval Air Station Key West, SPAWAR
FAA and NATCA, N90
ATCA Annual Industry Award
Raytheon STARS Team

ATCA Annual Outstanding Achievement for Small & Disadvantaged Business
Changeis, Inc.

ATCA Annual Outstanding Achievement for Small Business
ATCA Outstanding ATC Manager of the Year Award
Bud Griner, Robinson Aviation, Inc.

ATCA Military ATC Technician of the Year Award
CPL Bryce Cornell, US Marine Corps
ET1 Bryce Halvorson, US Navy
SGT Kurtis Miller, US Army

ATCA Military ATC Manager of the Year Award
CW2 Robert Bagardo, US Army

ATCA Military Air Traffic Controller of the Year Award
CPO Jennifer Oberholtzer, US Navy
SPC Shawn White, US Army
SRA Damien Williams, US Air Force

ATCA Annual Aviation Systems Specialist Safety Award
Lyne Théorêt, NAV CANADA

ATCA Life Cycle Management Award
David J. Hurley Memorial Award for Aviation Traffic Management
ATCA Ambassador Award
 Steve Carver, GDIT

The Chairman’s Citation of Merit Award
David Nakamura

The President’s Citation of Merit Award
John Gray, Midwest ATC

ATCA Lifetime Achievement Award
James Bunnell (posthumous)

The Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award
Hon. Linda Hall Daschle, LHD & Associates, Inc.*

*To be honored at the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Awards Banquet the evening of Oct. 2.


Join ATCA on Tuesday, October 2, 2018, during the ATCA Annual Conference & Exposition's Awards Luncheon to recognize the above award winners. Lunch is included with full conference registration; individual tickets are also available. To purchase tickets, register online at (free and paid conference options are available) and follow the prompts to add an Awards Luncheon ticket. For more information on award categories and descriptions, please visit

For Images and Media Inquiries:
Abigail Glenn-Chase, Communications Director
+1 703-299-2430 x308

To Purchase Banquet Tickets or Corporate Tables:

Mindy Soranno, Office Manager and Special Projects,
+1 703-299-2430


Go Back

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. You may opt out if you wish. Please note that some site capability may be affected.
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • 06 Jun 2018
    Hon. Linda Hall Daschle Named 2018 Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Winner

    The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) is pleased to announce that former FAA Acting Administrator Linda Hall Daschle has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the prestigious Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, one of the most prominent awards in aviation and ATCA’s highest honor.

    A pioneer for women in air traffic management, Daschle was the first female to hold the post of Acting Administrator for the FAA. She began her aviation career in Kansas nearly 45 years ago as a licensed weather observer for the agency. In 1993, she was nominated by President Clinton and confirmed by the US Senate for the position of FAA Deputy Administrator. One of her first tasks involved an assessment of the agency’s key air traffic modernization program called the Advanced Automation System which was eventually overhauled, saving the agency an estimated $1.6 billion. She also oversaw the advancement of new regional airline safety regulations and conducted a review of the agency’s safety and surveillance program, which resulted in one of the single largest hires of new safety inspectors in FAA history. 

    Ms. Daschle has held numerous government and private-sector leadership positions, including with the American Association of Airport Executives, the Air Transport Association, the former Civil Aeronautics Board, and with the law firm of Baker Donelson. She is currently President of LHD & Associates, Inc, and serves on the board of Aireon, LLC.

    In accepting the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, Ms. Daschle joins aviation greats, including Delta’s Richard Anderson, NATCA President Paul Rinaldi, the Hon. Jane Garvey, Boeing’s Neil Planzer, former Transportation Secretary Norman Mineta, and pilot A. Scott Crossfield. (View press release HERE.)

    Tickets will be available this month. For more information, visit

    Established in Washington, D.C., in 1956 by a group of air traffic controllers, the Air Traffic Control Association has been from the outset dedicated to progress in the science of air traffic control and the preservation of a safe flight environment.
    Contact Us
    1101 King Street,
    Suite 300, Alexandria,
    Virginia 22314
    Phone no.: 703-299-2430
    Fax: 703-299-2437
    Email to: