Press Details

ATCA Announces 2017 Award Recipients

19 Sep 2017
ATCA Announces 2017 Award Recipients


The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) is pleased to announce its 2017 Award Winners. The goal of ATCA's awards program is to give special recognition to those persons and/or organizations engaged in the development, operation, or maintenance of the worldwide air traffic control system for outstanding achievement.

The following recipients will be honored at the 2017 Awards Luncheon during the ATCA Annual on Tuesday, October 17, at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center in National Harbor, Maryland.

ATCA Annual Safety Award
Alvin Sipe, The Boeing Company

Andy Pitas Aircraft Safety Award
Eric Knight and Ross Leshinsky, BOS
Jeffrey Rawson, SLC
Ian Selin and Mark Smith, NAV CANADA
Brian Beck, Mike Clifton, Phil Enis, Thomas Herd, Hugh Hunton, Charlie Porter, Mike Turner, ZFW

ATCA Annual Team Award for Outstanding Achievement
The SoCal Metroplex Design and Implementation Team, FAA
3-58th Airfield Operations Battalion, US Army

ATCA Annual Industry Award

ATCA Annual Outstanding Achievement for Small & Disadvantaged Business

ATCA Annual Outstanding Achievement for Small Business
Infina, Ltd.

ATCA Outstanding ATC Manager of the Year Award
Harry Rivera, CI2 Aviation
CW2 Jason Christie, US Army

ATCA Military ATC Technician of the Year Award
Sgt Richard Robinson, US Marine Corps
ET1 Marcus Kruse, US Navy
SSG Joseph Bourassa, US Army

ATCA Military Air Traffic Controller of the Year Award
SrA Richard Smith, US Air Force
Sgt Andres Eras Zabala, US Marine Corps
AC1 Nikita Zellner, US Navy
SGT Robert Charity, US Army

ATCA Airway Transportation Systems Specialist of the Year Award
Radar Modernization Project (RAMP) Team, NAV CANADA

ATCA Annual Aviation Systems Specialist Safety Award
Nico Nguyen, FAA

ATCA Life Cycle Management Award
Common Hardware Integrated Platform (CHIP) Infrastructure Team, NAV CANADA

David J. Hurley Memorial Award for Aviation Traffic Management
Greg Juro, FAA

The Chairman’s Citation of Merit Award
Dr. John Cavolowsky, Leadership at UAS Traffic Management (UTM), NASA
Massimo Garbini, SESAR Deployment Manager
Robert Graham, EUROCONTROL
Jon Montgomery, Robert Pearce, Jaiwon Shin, Leadership Team at NASA Aeronautics, NASA

ATCA Ambassador Award
Tom Styc, ATCA Awards Committee Chair

The President’s Citation of Merit Award
Jim Eck, FAA
Margaret Jenny, RTCA
Dr. Parimal Kopardekar, NASA
Ben Marcus, AirMap
Dr. Ned Reese, WCG
Don Thoma, Aireon

The Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award
Richard Anderson, Delta Air Lines, Inc. / Northwest Airlines, Inc.*

*To be honored at the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Awards Banquet Oct. 17


Join ATCA on Tuesday, October 17, 2017, during the 62nd ATCA Annual Conference & Exposition's Awards Luncheon to recognize the above award winners. Lunch is included with full conference registration; individual tickets are also available. To purchase tickets, register online at as an Exhibit Hall visitor and then follow the prompts to add an Awards Luncheon ticket. For more information on award categories and descriptions, please visit

For Images and Media Inquiries: Abigail Glenn-Chase, Communications Director:, +1 703-299-2430 x308.

To Purchase Banquet Tickets or Corporate Tables: Mindy Soranno, Office Manager and Special Projects:, +1 703-299-2430.

About ATCA
The Air Traffic Control Association ( is dedicated to the progress and safety of air traffic control and works to advance the technology and professionalism of the industry. Founded in 1956 by a group of air traffic controllers, ATCA serves more than 3,5000 members from throughout the world—individual air traffic controllers as well as aviation associations, educational institutions, the government and military, and companies managing and providing equipment and services in the aviation community.


Go Back

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. You may opt out if you wish. Please note that some site capability may be affected.
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • 06 Jun 2018
    Hon. Linda Hall Daschle Named 2018 Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Winner

    The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) is pleased to announce that former FAA Acting Administrator Linda Hall Daschle has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the prestigious Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, one of the most prominent awards in aviation and ATCA’s highest honor.

    A pioneer for women in air traffic management, Daschle was the first female to hold the post of Acting Administrator for the FAA. She began her aviation career in Kansas nearly 45 years ago as a licensed weather observer for the agency. In 1993, she was nominated by President Clinton and confirmed by the US Senate for the position of FAA Deputy Administrator. One of her first tasks involved an assessment of the agency’s key air traffic modernization program called the Advanced Automation System which was eventually overhauled, saving the agency an estimated $1.6 billion. She also oversaw the advancement of new regional airline safety regulations and conducted a review of the agency’s safety and surveillance program, which resulted in one of the single largest hires of new safety inspectors in FAA history. 

    Ms. Daschle has held numerous government and private-sector leadership positions, including with the American Association of Airport Executives, the Air Transport Association, the former Civil Aeronautics Board, and with the law firm of Baker Donelson. She is currently President of LHD & Associates, Inc, and serves on the board of Aireon, LLC.

    In accepting the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, Ms. Daschle joins aviation greats, including Delta’s Richard Anderson, NATCA President Paul Rinaldi, the Hon. Jane Garvey, Boeing’s Neil Planzer, former Transportation Secretary Norman Mineta, and pilot A. Scott Crossfield. (View press release HERE.)

    Tickets will be available this month. For more information, visit

    Established in Washington, D.C., in 1956 by a group of air traffic controllers, the Air Traffic Control Association has been from the outset dedicated to progress in the science of air traffic control and the preservation of a safe flight environment.
    Contact Us
    1101 King Street,
    Suite 300, Alexandria,
    Virginia 22314
    Phone no.: 703-299-2430
    Fax: 703-299-2437
    Email to: