Press Details

ATCA Announces 2015 Award Recipients

16 Oct 2015
ATCA Announces 2015 Award Recipients


ATCA Announces 2015 Award Recipients

October 16, 2015 / Alexandria, VA - The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) is pleased to announce its 2015 Award Winners. The goal of ATCA's awards program is to give special recognition to those persons and/or organizations engaged in the development, operation, or maintenance of the worldwide air traffic control system for outstanding achievement.

The following recipients will be honored at the 2015 Awards Luncheon on Monday, November 2, during the 60th ATCA Annual at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center in National Harbor, Maryland. 


The General E.R. Quesada Memorial Award

Raymond Miller, CI² Aviation, Inc.


The George W. Kriske Memorial Award

John O’Sullivan, Harris Corporation

The William A. Parenteau Memorial Award

Changala Chisanga, FAA


The Andy Pitas Memorial Award

SSG Samuel Arredondo, US Army

William Beach, Albany, GA FCT

Anne Breen, NAV CANADA

Matt Dippe, ZSE

Sarina Gumbert, Central Florida TRACON

Mark Haechler, ZSE

Hugh McFarland, Houston TRACON

Alan Passero, ZSE 


The Earl F. Ward Memorial Award 

Foxtrot Company, 3-25 Aviation Regiment, US Army

NOTAM Systems Team, FAA


The ATCA Industrial Award

Lockheed Martin


The ATCA Air Traffic Control Specialist of the Year Award

Elizabeth Beaumont, ZFW

Douglas Bender, Beverly FCT

Maureen Stevens, NAV CANADA FSS


Lingiam Odems Memorial Award for Air Traffic Control Specialist of the Military

WO1 Manley Hatcher, US Army

SrA Mancel Marlar, US Air Force

AC1 Jason Miller, US Navy

SGT Brandon Rockman, US Marine Corps 


ATCA Airway Transportation Systems Specialist of the Year Award

SSG Becky Lam, US Marine Corps

ET1 Matthew Martin, US Navy



ATCA Life Cycle Management Award

François Bisaillon, NAV CANADA


The Chairman's Citation of Merit Award

Equip 2020

Frank Griffin, Midwest Air Traffic Control Service, Inc.

Light the Way Team, NAV CANADA

Susan Ragan, Beacon Management Group 

Leo Prusak & Tony Tisdall, FAA



President’s Citation of Merit Award

Tom Styc, ATCA Awards Committee

The ATCA Publications Committee


The Clifford P. Burton Memorial Award

Ned Spencer


The Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award

Sid Koslow, NAV CANADA




Join ATCA on Monday, November 2, 2015, during the 60th ATCA Annual Conference & Exposition's Awards Luncheon to recognize the above award winners. Lunch is included with full conference registration; individual tickets are also available. To purchase tickets,register online as an Exhibit Hall visitor and then follow the prompts to add an Awards Luncheon ticket. For more information on the Annual, visit This press release can be found at For more information on award categories and descriptions, please visit
For Images and Media Inquiries: Marion Brophy, Communications To purchase banquest tickets or corporate tables, call ATCA at 703-299-2430.      

For Images and Media Inquiries: Marion Brophy, Communications Director:
To purchase banquet tickets or corporate tables, call ATCA at 703-299-2430.

About ATCA

The Air Traffic Control Association ( is dedicated to the progress and safety of air traffic control and works to advance the technology and professionalism of the industry. Founded in 1956 by a group of air traffic controllers, ATCA serves nearly 3,000 members from throughout the world--individual air traffic controllers as well as aviation associations, educational institutions, the government and military, and companies managing and providing equipment and services in the aviation community.



Go Back

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. You may opt out if you wish. Please note that some site capability may be affected.
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • 06 Jun 2018
    Hon. Linda Hall Daschle Named 2018 Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Winner

    The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) is pleased to announce that former FAA Acting Administrator Linda Hall Daschle has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the prestigious Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, one of the most prominent awards in aviation and ATCA’s highest honor.

    A pioneer for women in air traffic management, Daschle was the first female to hold the post of Acting Administrator for the FAA. She began her aviation career in Kansas nearly 45 years ago as a licensed weather observer for the agency. In 1993, she was nominated by President Clinton and confirmed by the US Senate for the position of FAA Deputy Administrator. One of her first tasks involved an assessment of the agency’s key air traffic modernization program called the Advanced Automation System which was eventually overhauled, saving the agency an estimated $1.6 billion. She also oversaw the advancement of new regional airline safety regulations and conducted a review of the agency’s safety and surveillance program, which resulted in one of the single largest hires of new safety inspectors in FAA history. 

    Ms. Daschle has held numerous government and private-sector leadership positions, including with the American Association of Airport Executives, the Air Transport Association, the former Civil Aeronautics Board, and with the law firm of Baker Donelson. She is currently President of LHD & Associates, Inc, and serves on the board of Aireon, LLC.

    In accepting the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, Ms. Daschle joins aviation greats, including Delta’s Richard Anderson, NATCA President Paul Rinaldi, the Hon. Jane Garvey, Boeing’s Neil Planzer, former Transportation Secretary Norman Mineta, and pilot A. Scott Crossfield. (View press release HERE.)

    Tickets will be available this month. For more information, visit

    Established in Washington, D.C., in 1956 by a group of air traffic controllers, the Air Traffic Control Association has been from the outset dedicated to progress in the science of air traffic control and the preservation of a safe flight environment.
    Contact Us
    1101 King Street,
    Suite 300, Alexandria,
    Virginia 22314
    Phone no.: 703-299-2430
    Fax: 703-299-2437
    Email to: