Press Details

Sid Koslow Named Winner of 2015 Glen A. Gilbert Award

04 Aug 2015
Sid Koslow Named Winner of 2015 Glen A. Gilbert Award


NAV CANADA VP and CTO to Receive Air Traffic Honor in November

August 4, 2015 / Alexandria, Va. – The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) will present one of aviation’s premier awards – the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award – to 2015 winner Sidney (Sid) Koslow, Vice President and Chief Technology Officer of NAV CANADA, Canada’s Air Navigation Service Provider. Koslow will be honored by ATCA and the industry on November 4, 2015, at the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Banquet – a capstone to the historic 60th ATCA Annual.

“Sid Koslow truly embodies the spirit of the Gilbert award,” said Neil Planzer, ATCA’s Chair of the Board of Directors. “He has been an agent of progress through multiple roles and organizations, and has made a lasting impact on a global level through innovation and professionalism. ATCA is proud to include Sid in its history books as an extremely deserving recipient of this award.”

Koslow successfully led NAV CANADA into uncharted territory in his 18 years there, establishing a new model for the design, development, and deployment of air traffic management systems, a breakthrough which has spearheaded the modernization of the Canadian air navigation system. Prior to his role at NAV CANADA, Koslow spent 30-plus years at The MITRE Corporation, where he held roles of increasing responsibility, culminating in the position of Technical Director of MITRE’s System Development Division.

The Industry Responds

“Sid’s experience and expertise has been an invaluable asset to NAV CANADA, and we have benefitted from his technology leadership and commitment to innovation. This prestigious award is well-deserved and I’m very glad to see Sid recognized for his stellar career and numerous contributions to the aviation industry.” – John Crichton, President and CEO, NAV CANADA

“It has been my pleasure to be Sid’s colleague for many years, benefiting from his technical knowledge and his focus on the customer. He succeeds by getting key stakeholders involved and concentrating on solutions that solve customer problems. He brings to the table a unique combination of experience, knowledge, and a commercial and customer orientation, which have been the key to the successful implementation of safe and effective technology solutions.” – Morten Dambæk, CEO, Naviair

About the Gilbert Award

The Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award was most recently awarded to Metron Aviation President Monte Belger in 2014, and boasts other recipients including former FAA Administrators such as The Hon. Jane Garvey and The Hon. Najeeb Halaby; Captain Elrey B. Jeppesen; former Transportation Secretary Norman Mineta; and Pilot A. Scott Crossfield. The award – ATCA’s highest honor – honors the outstanding, long-term achievement of an individual in the aviation field. It is named after Glen A. Gilbert (1913 – 1982), the “father of air traffic control” and writer of the first ATC manual. A full list of past recipients can be found at


About ATCA

The Air Traffic Control Association ( is dedicated to the progress and safety of air traffic control and works to advance the technology and professionalism of the industry. Founded in 1956 by a group of air traffic controllers, ATCA serves nearly 3,000 members from throughout the world—individual air traffic controllers as well as aviation associations, educational institutions, the government and military, and companies managing and providing equipment and services in the aviation community.

Media Inquiries: Marion Brophy, ATCA Communications Director:

Banquet Ticket Inquiries: Claire Rusk: or +1 703 299-2430. X309


Go Back

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. You may opt out if you wish. Please note that some site capability may be affected.
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • 06 Jun 2018
    Hon. Linda Hall Daschle Named 2018 Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Winner

    The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) is pleased to announce that former FAA Acting Administrator Linda Hall Daschle has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the prestigious Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, one of the most prominent awards in aviation and ATCA’s highest honor.

    A pioneer for women in air traffic management, Daschle was the first female to hold the post of Acting Administrator for the FAA. She began her aviation career in Kansas nearly 45 years ago as a licensed weather observer for the agency. In 1993, she was nominated by President Clinton and confirmed by the US Senate for the position of FAA Deputy Administrator. One of her first tasks involved an assessment of the agency’s key air traffic modernization program called the Advanced Automation System which was eventually overhauled, saving the agency an estimated $1.6 billion. She also oversaw the advancement of new regional airline safety regulations and conducted a review of the agency’s safety and surveillance program, which resulted in one of the single largest hires of new safety inspectors in FAA history. 

    Ms. Daschle has held numerous government and private-sector leadership positions, including with the American Association of Airport Executives, the Air Transport Association, the former Civil Aeronautics Board, and with the law firm of Baker Donelson. She is currently President of LHD & Associates, Inc, and serves on the board of Aireon, LLC.

    In accepting the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, Ms. Daschle joins aviation greats, including Delta’s Richard Anderson, NATCA President Paul Rinaldi, the Hon. Jane Garvey, Boeing’s Neil Planzer, former Transportation Secretary Norman Mineta, and pilot A. Scott Crossfield. (View press release HERE.)

    Tickets will be available this month. For more information, visit

    Established in Washington, D.C., in 1956 by a group of air traffic controllers, the Air Traffic Control Association has been from the outset dedicated to progress in the science of air traffic control and the preservation of a safe flight environment.
    Contact Us
    1101 King Street,
    Suite 300, Alexandria,
    Virginia 22314
    Phone no.: 703-299-2430
    Fax: 703-299-2437
    Email to: