Press Details

2011 Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Winner, Jane Garvey

08 Sep 2011
2011 Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Winner, Jane Garvey


Alexandria, VA - September 8, 2011 – The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) is proud to announce Jane Garvey as its 2011 Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award winner. With 28 years of experience in aviation and transportation, Garvey – a former Administrator for the Federal Aviation Administration (1997 - 2002) – is currently the chairman of Meridiam Infrastructure North America. ATCA will celebrate Garvey and her achievements at the Glen Gilbert Memorial Award Banquet the evening of October 5, 2011.

“Jane Garvey is one of the truly indispensable figures in American transportation,” said U.S. Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood. “Thanks to her long and distinguished work on both aviation and surface transportation, she has been an invaluable resource for me at the Department of Transportation, and every American who flies on our world-class aviation system owes Jane a debt of gratitude for her vision and dedication.”

The 14th Administrator of the FAA and the first to serve a five-year term, Garvey was nominated by President Clinton and confirmed by the U.S. Senate in 1997. She led the nation’s aviation system into the 21st century and worked to restore America’s confidence in air travel after the events of September 11, 2001.

“I am continually impressed with Jane’s unyielding pursuit of progress in aviation policy and safety,” said Peter F. Dumont, President and CEO of ATCA. “She is continually working to advance our community. Jane’s accomplishments and passion make her a worthy recipient.”

The Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award is the highest honor of the Air Traffic Control Association and one of the premier awards in aviation. It is awarded once a year to honor the outstanding, long-term achievement of an individual in the field of aviation. The award is named after Glen A. Gilbert (1913 – 1982), who led the development of U.S. and international air traffic control when he wrote the first air traffic control manual. Former winners include Najeeb Halaby, A. Scott Crossfield, Former Secretary of Transportation and Congressman Norman Mineta, and Captain Elrey B. Jeppesen. The award trophy is displayed at the Smithsonian’s Air and Space Museum in Washington, D.C., and a full list of past recipients can be found at

# # #

Media Contact:
Marion Hixon, Communications Manager:
For more information on purchasing banquet tickets or corporate tables, contact ATCA at +1 703/299-2430.


Go Back

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. You may opt out if you wish. Please note that some site capability may be affected.
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • 06 Jun 2018
    Hon. Linda Hall Daschle Named 2018 Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Winner

    The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) is pleased to announce that former FAA Acting Administrator Linda Hall Daschle has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the prestigious Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, one of the most prominent awards in aviation and ATCA’s highest honor.

    A pioneer for women in air traffic management, Daschle was the first female to hold the post of Acting Administrator for the FAA. She began her aviation career in Kansas nearly 45 years ago as a licensed weather observer for the agency. In 1993, she was nominated by President Clinton and confirmed by the US Senate for the position of FAA Deputy Administrator. One of her first tasks involved an assessment of the agency’s key air traffic modernization program called the Advanced Automation System which was eventually overhauled, saving the agency an estimated $1.6 billion. She also oversaw the advancement of new regional airline safety regulations and conducted a review of the agency’s safety and surveillance program, which resulted in one of the single largest hires of new safety inspectors in FAA history. 

    Ms. Daschle has held numerous government and private-sector leadership positions, including with the American Association of Airport Executives, the Air Transport Association, the former Civil Aeronautics Board, and with the law firm of Baker Donelson. She is currently President of LHD & Associates, Inc, and serves on the board of Aireon, LLC.

    In accepting the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, Ms. Daschle joins aviation greats, including Delta’s Richard Anderson, NATCA President Paul Rinaldi, the Hon. Jane Garvey, Boeing’s Neil Planzer, former Transportation Secretary Norman Mineta, and pilot A. Scott Crossfield. (View press release HERE.)

    Tickets will be available this month. For more information, visit

    Established in Washington, D.C., in 1956 by a group of air traffic controllers, the Air Traffic Control Association has been from the outset dedicated to progress in the science of air traffic control and the preservation of a safe flight environment.
    Contact Us
    1101 King Street,
    Suite 300, Alexandria,
    Virginia 22314
    Phone no.: 703-299-2430
    Fax: 703-299-2437
    Email to: