Press Details

ATCA Announces its 2012 Award Recipients

06 Sep 2012
ATCA Announces its 2012 Award Recipients


Thirty Individuals and Organizations Honored for Contributions to Air Traffic Control

The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) is pleased to announce its 2012 Award Winners. The goal of ATCA''s awards program is to give special recognition to those persons and/or organizations engaged in the development, operation, or maintenance of the world-wide air traffic control system for outstanding achievement.

“Every year, we are honored to recognize the outstanding achievements of so many in the air traffic community,” said Peter F. Dumont, President and CEO of ATCA. “Their contributions strengthen not only the association, but the ATC community as a whole. We are grateful to them for adding to the quality, safety, and efficiency of air traffic control.”

The General E.R. Quesada Memorial Award
Glen Martin, Federal Aviation Administration

The George W. Kriske Memorial Award
Dave Ford, Ford Aviation Solutions

The William A. Parenteau Memorial Award
Robert J. Carr, Federal Aviation Administration

The Andy Pitas Memorial Award
Steven Bruce, Robinson Aviation, Inc.
Brian Graham, Federal Aviation Administration
Eric Leygues, NAV CANADA

The Earl F. Ward Memorial Award
Eagle Control Tower, Serco
Kandahar ATC Tower, RAPCON & Airfield Management, Midwest ATC Service, Inc.

The ATCA Industrial Award
Lockheed Martin

The ATCA Small & Disadvantaged Business Award

The Charles E. Varnell Memorial Award for Small Business
B3 Solutions, LLC

The ATCA Air Traffic Control Specialist of the Year Award
John Blakeney, Robinson Aviation, Inc.

Lingiam Odems Memorial Award for Air Traffic Control Specialist of the Military
AC1. Megan Bench, U.S. Navy
SSgt. Jamerson Watts, U.S. Air Force
SSgt. Raul Desantiago, U.S. Marine Corps
WO1. Jaclyn Ciffra, National Guard

ATCA Airway Transportation Systems Specialist of the Year Award
Kevin Bittinger, Federal Aviation Administration
SSgt. Dale Elder, U.S. Marine Corps
ET2. Nathan Williams, U.S. Navy

ATCA Life Cycle Management Award

The David J. Hurley Memorial Award for Aviation Traffic Management
Ellen King, Federal Aviation Administration

The Chairman’s Citation of Merit Award
Army PM Air Traffic Control - Fixed Base ATC Team, U.S. Army
Michael Bendixen, Federal Aviation Administration
Fred Gibbs, ARC Group
Franklin Hatfield, Federal Aviation Administration
Suzette Matthews, Washington Progress Group
Sgt. Travis Schlumpberger, U.S. Marine Corps
Steve Vail, Mosaic ATM

The ATCA President’s Citation
Rick Ducharme, Federal Aviation Administration

Please join us Monday, October 1, 2012 during the ATCA 57th Annual Conference & Exposition’s Awards Luncheon to recognize the hard work of these recipients. Lunch is included with full conference registration; however, individual tickets are also available. To purchase tickets, contact Brian Courter at or 703-299-2430 x311. For more information on the Annual, visit


For Images and Media Inquiries: Marion Brophy, Communications Director:
To purchase banquet tickets or corporate tables, call ATCA: +1 703/299-2430.


Go Back

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. You may opt out if you wish. Please note that some site capability may be affected.
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • 06 Jun 2018
    Hon. Linda Hall Daschle Named 2018 Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Winner

    The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) is pleased to announce that former FAA Acting Administrator Linda Hall Daschle has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the prestigious Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, one of the most prominent awards in aviation and ATCA’s highest honor.

    A pioneer for women in air traffic management, Daschle was the first female to hold the post of Acting Administrator for the FAA. She began her aviation career in Kansas nearly 45 years ago as a licensed weather observer for the agency. In 1993, she was nominated by President Clinton and confirmed by the US Senate for the position of FAA Deputy Administrator. One of her first tasks involved an assessment of the agency’s key air traffic modernization program called the Advanced Automation System which was eventually overhauled, saving the agency an estimated $1.6 billion. She also oversaw the advancement of new regional airline safety regulations and conducted a review of the agency’s safety and surveillance program, which resulted in one of the single largest hires of new safety inspectors in FAA history. 

    Ms. Daschle has held numerous government and private-sector leadership positions, including with the American Association of Airport Executives, the Air Transport Association, the former Civil Aeronautics Board, and with the law firm of Baker Donelson. She is currently President of LHD & Associates, Inc, and serves on the board of Aireon, LLC.

    In accepting the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, Ms. Daschle joins aviation greats, including Delta’s Richard Anderson, NATCA President Paul Rinaldi, the Hon. Jane Garvey, Boeing’s Neil Planzer, former Transportation Secretary Norman Mineta, and pilot A. Scott Crossfield. (View press release HERE.)

    Tickets will be available this month. For more information, visit

    Established in Washington, D.C., in 1956 by a group of air traffic controllers, the Air Traffic Control Association has been from the outset dedicated to progress in the science of air traffic control and the preservation of a safe flight environment.
    Contact Us
    1101 King Street,
    Suite 300, Alexandria,
    Virginia 22314
    Phone no.: 703-299-2430
    Fax: 703-299-2437
    Email to: